Media Fluency is All Around

Posted: May 1, 2012 by snwolk in Samantha

Hey there bloggers.  Today I watched a hilarious clip on YouTube of Ellen DeGenerous attempting to do a reading of a book called ’50 Shades of Grey’ by E.L. James.  Because I don’t know if it would be appropriate to post on a blog for class, I instead recommend that those of you who have read or heard of the book go check it out. After getting over the hilarity of the clip itself, it occurred to me just how many media were taking place in this one clip.  I was watching a clip from television on the internet about a book.  Does that boggle anyone else’s mind?  As the semester comes to a close, I find myself continually thinking about things like this in my everyday life, something which is most definitely attributed to this class.  I was wondering if this has happened to anyone else. While I am always entertained with the content around me, I can’t help but notice aspects of social media and media fluency all around.  Specifically with TV, I have seen several commercials that end with a picture with a Facebook or Twitter button or a voice saying “check us out on Facebook.”  Additionally, there are now television shows today about video games and video games that incorporate television shows.  There are websites that are dedicated to different TV programs or characters from shows that include blog posts about fans’ favorite episodes, plot lines they want changed, or their preferred love triangles.  There is no longer such thing as separate media, they have all converged together, are intertwined, and, at this point, can’t exist or succeed without each other.  What do you think that says about our culture today?  Was this inevitable?

Voice Your Opinion Here!

